Ducks, ducks, ducks

All my life I’ve been interested in ducks. Then one birthday I got a batch of ducklings and a new era began. I watered my ducks, fed them, took them for walks, supervised sitting mothers, disposed of rotten eggs, shooed them into their pen at night, shooed them into the channel for swims and watched over the baby ducklings like a mother.

I kept muscovy ducks and khaki campbell ducks. When I left home for the city to study I had to leave them behind and eventually they dwindled down to zero. But I still want to keep them again one day. And I’m always looking out for ducks wherever I go.

Luckily where I live now there is a park with lots of ducks. Pacific black ducks, Australian wood ducks and one Australian grey teal duck.

Pacific black duck

black duck, river, stones

Pacific black duck down by the river

Australian wood duck

wood ducks, green grass, path

Male and female pair of Australian wood ducks

australian wood duck, lake, flying

My favourite flying sequence of Autralian wood ducks on the lake!

Australian grey teal

grey teal duck, lake, grass

Australian grey teal duck at the zoo

These are the common types of ducks that you’re likely to see around all about.

Then there are some really cool types of ducks, that you have to put effort into looking for. Luckily for me, a bunch of them make their home in the Japanese garden at the zoo and I was able to see them yesterday and grab a few snaps.

Australian shelduck

australian shelduck, pair, zoo, grass, lake

Australian shelduck male and female pair

australian shelduck, grass, bushes, lake

Pair of Australian shelducks, female in front

Chestnut teal

chestnut teal, grass, lake

Male chestnut teals

 Hardhead duck

hardhead duck. rocks, lake

Male hardhead duck

Plumed whistling duck

whistling ducks, grass, sun

Pair of plumed whistling ducks at the zoo

Lots of fun! There’s another type of duck that we used to go for drives and look for when I was a kid in the winter; the mountain duck. I can’t find it in my field guide so I’ll have to do some more research and find out exactly what type of duck it was.

I’ll get back to you!!

Leave a Reply

