Alone

Today I want to make a shout out to anyone and everyone who is battling mental illness alone.

Kudos to you! You are amazing! You are so much stronger than you realise! I don’t know how you do it but keep it up; you are an inspiration to me!

I don’t believe that I would still be here if I had gone through this alone. So many times in so many ways I have relied on all of the amazing people around me.

My husband of course being number one. He has been dealing with me for eleven years! Ten of those years I was undiagnosed with mental illness, and I’m not sure how much of my illness I had over that time but he has dealt with all of me and stuck by me and been my best friend, my biggest supporter, the most amazing listener, and just through and through amazing. I shudder to think of some of the things I put him through: hysterics, tantrums, intense nagging, doom and gloom, worry about everything and everyone, panic attacks, tears over anything and everything, and some pretty crazy manic episodes!!

My friends have probably been subject to some not so nice days with me too. Sorry about that! But their support has always helped me in every scenario and I wouldn’t be without any of them!

My team. My GP who is available all day any time Monday to Friday at short notice and without an appointment. My sweet psychologist who will fit me in any time Monday to Saturday and who calls every now and then just to see how I’m going. My relatively new psychiatrist who has given me his mobile number to call any time! That’s pretty amazing! The local CATT team who are only a phone call away. The workplace counselling number that I can call 24 hours a day. Lifeline, Helpline, Suicide Callback line and all the other fantastic services that can be called from anywhere anytime and are truly fabulous!

My colleagues. I don’t see them much but when I do they are so friendly and concerned and encouraging that it really touches my heart and I want to get better so that I can get back to work and pay them back for all their kindness.

Family too, everyone in their own way doing what they can to help me keep going.

I’m so glad for each and every person who has helped me keep on going and made me keep trying and made me want to keep living and fighting!

I might not have thanked you face to face, I might not have let you know how awesome you are but I know it and one day I hope I can show you how important you are!

Leave a Reply

