NO

I have a few problems. We all know this.

My latest one: why doesn’t no, mean no?

When I say no, why is that not a clear message that I will not be doing, saying, participating in, involving myself in whatever was asked of me?

When did no become an invitation for appeals to my better person, elaboration of why I should change my answer of no into a yes, and “encouragement” to push through whatever reasons made me say no and find that I actually really meant yes all along?

It kind of suggests that I don’t really know my own mind, that I don’t really know what’s good for me, what I “should” be doing, how I “should” be spending my time.

But how can another person really know what is best for me? Surely no one is more equipped to decide than me.

I am no longer a baby who needs decisions made on it’s behalf, or a child who doesn’t have all the information to make a good decision.

I may not have my full faculties in some regards, but no one has ever diagnosed me with inability to know myself and what is best for me. In fact every single doctor, psychiatrist, psychologist and nurse that I have seen has told me that I have excellent insight and great knowledge of how to manage myself in all aspects of life.

That’s enough of a stamp for me. I wish it were enough of a stamp for everyone.

But I guess that’s life. You have your hopes and expectations of people, but you can’t control them. I think I’m getting a better understanding of this. And slowly starting to accept it.

I can’t control you. But I do control me, and I will continue to do what I believe to be best for me.

Sorry that you don’t agree. Maybe it’s time to consider that I have different goals and a different direction in life to what you thought I had. It doesn’t really matter.

All that matters is that I do what I do, and that’s all there is to the whole situation.

Leave a Reply

