Queenscliff sunset

Yesterday we drove to Queenscliff to spend a few days on holiday by the seaside. Yes, it’s winter. Yes, it’s freezing but it’s whale season!! I really want to see a whale! So I’m hoping that while we stay here on the coast I will somehow be in the right place at the right time and catch a glimpse. I’ve never seen a whale in the wild and it’s one of my bucket list items so here’s hoping.

We arrived in time for a late lunch and a nap for me. Yes I’m still napping but I’d been up early, been to the doctor, driven with the family down here and I was ready for some alone time and rest and relaxation.

I woke up just in time for the sunset.

I walked down to Swan Bay to take some shots over the beautiful water and was met with a fierce cold wind that goes straight to your bones! Wow it was cold! But I had fun taking sunset shots, even though my face went numb, and got a few bonus surprises. All afternoon I’d been hearing a train whistle and couldn’t work out what it was. Turns out it was a gorgeous old steam train! Tomorrow I’m going to take a ride on it; I’m pretty excited!

Here’s my evening’s work.

sunset, swan bay

Stunning sunset over Swan Bay

sunset, swan bay, wind

Sunset over the wind rippled bay

steam train, queenscliff

Queenscliff heritage steam train from the 1920s

steam train, station, queenscliff

Queenscliff heritage steam train and the old railway station

steam train, queenscliff

Heritage Queenscliff steam train at the siding

Queenscliff railway station in the dusk

Queenscliff railway station in the dusk

Dusk over Swan Bay

Dusk over Swan Bay

A flock of Silver Gulls and one lonely immature Pacific Gull

A flock of Silver Gulls and one lonely immature Pacific Gull

Quaint old stone waterways in Queenscliff

Quaint old stone waterways in Queenscliff

Leave a Reply

