How to bird watch

Okay, for starters that is a pretty big statement!

I am an amateur at bird watching, having only started last year. I am no expert at it that’s for sure!

But I am passionate about it and enjoy it and want everyone else to have fun with it too.

I didn’t take any classes or get any instruction in bird watching so all that I can share is my personal journey with bird watching.

My approach is:

1) Listen for bird calls. A lot of birds sing constantly or use calls to check in with each other. If you can hear the song you can follow it to find the bird.

2) Walk around with your eyes open wherever you are. Look in the tops of trees especially dead trees for odd shapes that may be birds. Look for flying birds. Look into shrubs and bushes for movement. Look into trees as you pass by. Continuously scan your environment. Look into reeds and grasses on the edge of waterways. Watch the path in front of you. My best discoveries have been at random moments when I least expected them!

3) Go to a likely location. Choose parks and gardens and reserves. Go to wetlands, swamps, rivers, lakes, the beach. Find out where other bird watchers go and follow them.

4) Walk around slowly and steadily. Movements frighten birds away, even small movements if they are sudden. Walking slowly and making movements carefully gives you the best chance of seeing birds.

5) Be quiet. Noises scare birds away so treading quietly and making as little noise as possible gives you an advantage.

Well these are just my ideas.

I’m not an expert just an enthusiast. I’d love to see you out bird watching and finding the excitement and enjoyment in it that I do.

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

