Raymond Island

Hello again friends,

I know I’m a bit off my usual topics at the moment but I had an amazing four days away at Wattle Point on Lake Victoria near Paynesville last week, and I just want to relive it over and over!

Cuddly cute Koala soaking up the afternoon sun on Raymond Island

Cuddly cute Koala soaking up the afternoon sun on Raymond Island

Did I mention at any stage that I’ve gone back to work? I’m currently doing 3 shifts of 5 hours from 8.30am to 1.30pm each week on Monday, Thursday and Friday. I started back EXACTLY six whole months since I left and it’s going well.

Except that it sometimes cramps my style! I say this jokingly, mostly, but being off work with the whole week at your disposal apart from doctors appointments, psychologist appointments, classes and whatever activities I was up for had its great points especially in the last two months after I started lithium and was actually able to function!

The most adorable baby Koala learning to climb and cling to branched all by itself!

The most adorable baby Koala learning to climb and cling to branched all by itself!

And having to work around three shifts of work is fine, except when an extended trip comes up. I worked around my Thailand trip (more to come on this!) because I was booked in before I started back at work, but this week long holiday came up with my mum and dad and I had to just take the bits that I could get. My year long contract finishes next week so I want to make the most of being able to make money while I have the opportunity!

The majority of Koalas just seem like they're snuggled up in bed, gum tree

The majority of Koalas just seem like they’re snuggled up in bed

In the end I worked Monday, caught public transport 4 hours across Victoria to spend Tuesday and Wednesday with mum and dad, caught public transport back to work Thursday and Friday, then drove back with hubby and a great friend to spend Saturday and Sunday. Just a bit tiring but the lengths people go to for a holiday… πŸ™‚

The first Koala of the day, quite at home next the the main road and the kids playground and low enough down to touch!

The first Koala of the day, quite at home next the the main road and the kids playground and low enough down to touch!

So the holiday. It was a fascinating opportunity that came up through the Otis Foundation, an incredible institution that raises money for women who have had breast cancer. The money goes towards providing holiday accommodation free of charge to the woman with breast cancer and her family. The idea of the holiday is to leave breast cancer and all of its trappings behind: chemo, radiotherapy, medicines, nausea, pain etc and just go on retreat from the real world for a while.

Sitting pretty, propped up on all side

Sitting pretty, propped up on all side

And it truly was a retreat! The house at Wattle Point was fabulous and absolutely suited to holiday makers with loads of windows looking out over Lake Victoria, an open fire for chilly nights, outdoor decking and BBQ, tables and chairs for outdoor dining, spa, window seat, hall book shelf and gorgeous gardens, pond, orchard, chook yard, canoes and trampoline. Amazing! And there were all kinds of birds, plus rabbits and hares running across the lawn!

Stunning!

Snuggled up with a branch for a prop

Snuggled up with a branch for a prop

Sleepy grandpa Koala with a "do not disturb' face

Sleepy grandpa Koala with a “do not disturb’ face

20 minutes from Paynesville, 20 minutes from Bairnsdale, 10 minutes from Blond Bay game reserve, 25 minutes from the silt jetties, Bluff lookout and the flora and fauna reserve.

So much to see and do!

I can see one hand dangling, and neither leg is hanging on...

I can see one hand dangling, and neither leg is hanging on…

But one of the most amazing of all of the local attractions is the Koala trail on Raymond Island. This is connected by chain ferry to Paynesville, an easy 5 minute crossover and then the delights begin!

Immediately! For free! And so thrilling and delightful! So on a perfectly sunny glorious morning we headed for Raymond Island.

Another Koala in an incomprehensible position with too many limbs lolling down!

Another Koala in an incomprehensible position with too many limbs lolling down!

Snoozing along a limb in the afternoon sun

Snoozing along a limb in the afternoon sun

The very first tree after you cross over the road from the ferry to the park had the first koala! Right there! Right in the fork of the tree! You don’t even have to look; it’s right there! And it’s not in an enclosure or a wildlife park; these are wild koalas put on the island nearly 100 years ago to prevent them from becoming extinct. I went through the park last Tuesday and again on Saturday with more people, and as hard as it was to believe, there were even more koalas the second time around!

Just postcard perfect! Thanks for turning your head just at the right moment

Just postcard perfect! Thanks for turning your head just at the right moment

This Koala climbed out here to feed...looked pretty precarious!

This Koala climbed out here to feed…looked pretty precarious!

Fluffy ears with a good view of the world from up in the sky

Fluffy ears with a good view of the world from up in the sky

I hope you enjoy these super cute delightful creatures as much as I did! I think from now on when I’m having a down day, these will be my cheer up photos!

The cutest, most alert koala of the day...check the next photo for what he did next!

The cutest, most alert koala of the day…check the next photo for what he did next!

Having a good ol scratch, oh to be that flexible!

Having a good ol scratch, oh to be that flexible!

2 thoughts on “Raymond Island

  1. Great koala photos. Sounds like a wonderfully relaxing time away. It sounds as tho work is going well for you – hope it stays that way. You are sounding happy and contented in your posts. Think about you often. Lots of love xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

