Nesting

I have to say that in all the years I’ve been alive, I’ve never put some much attention towards the world around me, particularly nature, until this year. I’ve always loved nature, but I guess I didn’t have the time, or the attention before. I’ve spent a LOT of my life rushing and I regret that; so now I’m trying to deliberately slow down and enjoy what I have.

This year, I’ve had the time. I haven’t had much energetic time, much enthusiastic time, much motivated time but what I’ve had I’ve used, pretty well I think. Bird watching and photography are almost the only things that will get me excited on a down day – that’s a pretty powerful thing!

Taking notice has led to a weird phenomenon of me finding new things around me that were always there, but I wasn’t looking. I’m so glad that now I’m looking because the reward is great!

Here’s a series that has given me great pleasure this spring – enjoy!

eucalypt, Looks like my kind of throw together nest...not sure that its being used now

Looks like my kind of throw together nest…not sure that its being used now

This was found deep in the thickets around Blond Bay game reserve so it must have been made by birds, but its so neat! Also looks a bit off kilter!

This was found deep in the thickets around Blond Bay game reserve so it must have been made by birds, but its so neat! Also looks a bit off kilter!

Pair of Willy Wagtails have built a perfect little mud nest and take turns to guard it

Pair of Willy Wagtails have built a perfect little mud nest and take turns to guard it

Welcome Swallow building up a new nest, although why they don't use the other one is baffling

Welcome Swallow building up a new nest, although why they don’t use the other one is baffling

The first nest which looks fine from the outside, but they've moved on to build a new one

The first nest which looks fine from the outside, but they’ve moved on to build a new one

Not sure what kind of bird made this but it looks well built

Not sure what kind of bird made this but it looks well built

A Tawny Frogmouth sitting on a nest very securely located on a broad eucalypt branch

A Tawny Frogmouth sitting on a nest very securely located on a broad eucalypt branch

They tell me this tiny nest belongs to a tiny bird...again can't remember which but something like a Striated Thornbill

They tell me this tiny nest belongs to a tiny bird…again can’t remember which but something like a Striated Thornbill

I can't remember what kind of bird I saw coming out of here - either a Magpie, a Pied Currawong or a Little Raven

I can’t remember what kind of bird I saw coming out of here – either a Magpie, a Pied Currawong or a Little Raven. It flew straight at me as I was trying to get a photo, which distracted me a little! Not deliberately I think

Cape Barren goose with a ground nest inside the safety of Serendip Sanctuary

Cape Barren goose with a ground nest inside the safety of Serendip Sanctuary

A Willy Wagtail built his nest near this busy weekend cafe...and spent the day dancing all around the area - pretty pretty

A Willy Wagtail built his nest near this busy cafe…and spent the day dancing all around the area – pretty pretty

Hope this doesn't hurt your eyes! I'm thinking maybe Swallows make a habit of building multiple nests...I can't figure out which one they're actually using! Incidentally...this is directly over a wedding car!

Hope this blurry photo doesn’t hurt your eyes! I’m thinking maybe Swallows make a habit of building multiple nests…I can’t figure out which one they’re actually using! Incidentally…this is directly over a wedding car!

I think this is a Magpie nest - although I wasn't swooped the Magpie was chattering away

I think this is a Magpie nest – although I wasn’t swooped, the Magpie was chattering away

This is the first time I've seen a Magpie-Lark nest. I was looking at it when they flew back...one onto the nest and one surveying from nearby

This is the first time I’ve seen a Magpie-Lark nest. I was looking at it when they flew back…one onto the nest and one surveying from nearby

This is a fun one, well to me anyways! So far I’ve gotten relatively close to a Magpie nest on three occasions and never been swooped. Maybe its beginners luck…I’ve been swooped by Noisy Miners, pigeons, Welcome Swallows, Magpie-Larks and Willy Wagtails so maybe the Magpies took pity on me!

And this is the Magpie nest high up with the other of the pair sitting on it

And this is the Magpie nest high up with one of the pair sitting on it

Poor quality to boot, but if you peer through the sticks to the far tree, you can see one of the Magpie pair standing watch over the goings on

Poor quality to boot, but if you peer through the sticks to the far tree, you can see one of the Magpie pair standing watch over the goings on

Leave a Reply

