Canberra Day Nine

Today was THE BEST DAY of BIRDING EVER!!! EVER!!! So far at least, I’ll try to improve…not that seeing a greater number of species of birds is something that you really have a lot of control over, but still.

Two hours, THIRTY EIGHT different species of birds, no idea about the number of actual birds, and every single one WITHOUT MY CAMERA!! Screams and wails of horror! As a comparison, when I spent 3.5 hours in the bush at Black Mountain last Monday I got 19 species! I got ready for a bike ride this morning, kicking my week off to a good start. I headed off around the central loop of Lake Burley Griffin planning to go around the eastern loop as well, and the birds just kept appearing one after the other after the other! I finished my ride but never again am I going without my camera! Canberra is certainly living up to it’s birding potential! 38 different types of birds and quite a few that I’ve seen only a couple of times if that: Golden Whistler, Black Faced Cuckoo-Shrike, Tree Martin…I wish I could show you, but I can’t.

So I’ll settle for this adorable family of Wood Ducks! 11 ducklings with their parents and another pair of ducks; could they be any cuter? And to all of my Wheel Women friends: no one was hurt in the photographing of these ducks! No crashes, no injuries, all parties went their separate ways happy and unharmed!

P.s. I went to Floriade today, photos to follow, and an even cuter event happened! So I’m changing my photo 🙂

[Note: but you’ll notice that I’ve snuck in the original photo as the header…]

img_4393

Tiny little baby Purple Swamphens (AKA Maori hens) which must be pretty recently hatched! But despite their fluffiness and having 3 toes instead of webbed feet, they are great swimmers!

Leave a Reply

