Canberra Day Twenty Seven

img_8663-red-rumped-parrot-cropped

There’s a Brad Paisley song that has a line something like “yeah I live for, little moments, like that”. That’s how I feel about this little moment.

I’ve found that the flighty parrots of Melbourne like this Red Rumped Parrot, like Eastern Rosellas, King Parrots and more just aren’t that flighty up here in Canberra. I’ve seen more of them here than anywhere. I’ve seen this particular parrot feeding on nature strips and not even bothering when cars or people go by! In Melbourne I’ve only found them NOT in Melbourne or in remote bushy parts of Melbourne.But here they are more settled. Maybe its the difference in population, or lower housing density up north here where we’re staying, or the nearby nature reserves; I don’t know but it’s fascinating that their behaviour can be so different! This one was so relaxed that when I pulled up to the curb a metre away to photograph something else, it didn’t budge at all; usually I’d see a flash of green and that would be all. I took a few “safety shots” through the windscreen from where I was behind the wheel but they made for rubbish shots, then carefully crept forward in the car until I was parallel with it. Still amazed, and very excited, that it still hadn’t moved! I do find that birds will sometimes accept a car over a person as they don’t seem to see a threat in something without eyes. I eased myself upwards in my seat to shoot over the top of the window sill. I’ve still had to crop some window sill out but this is truly THE most amazing photo I’ve EVER taken of a Red Rumped Parrot and it was all accidental; I just happened to have my camera in the car for other purposes. Sometimes life truly does happen while you’re busy making and carrying out other plans. This is also why the photographer in me cries silently inside when I have to go anywhere without my big camera; no amount of megapixels on a camera phone will get you this shot!

So rest day. I slept in, leisurely looked through some photos, then decided to get moving and do some jobs down the street: change our mail redirection, get a sketch book and a folder to show what we’ve done since we came to Canberra and buy some more iron tablets. All mundane but necessary. I checked out the local bike store for clothing but no cigar, then decided to visit the Tulip Top Town out at Bywong. I had a lovely drive around in that area, but decided to wait til next weekend for the tulip place when they’ll have a festival on. Then I went and checked out Sutton and Gundaroo, the latter is especially lovely and old fashioned. Caught a Brown Falcon on camera resting in a dead tree after a fight with a Raven. Took the back way home on a terrible rutted road!! Not the best choice for driving but scenic. Then relaxed away the afternoon with more photos and a nap. Finally my brother-in-law arrived for the weekend after 13 months away in England and more recently tripping around Europe. Not a bad day, not bad at all! And tomorrow, Floriade!!!

Leave a Reply

