Canberra Day Thirty Seven

[Monday 17th October, 2016]

Well Monday turned out how you would expect when you’ve had a late night the night before, slow and groggy. I know, I know; shouldn’t do it. But we were invited to tea last night and were just having the best time and it got late before we knew it. Hope that Miss 4 was able to get up for kinder/kindy/whatever 4 year old 5 days/fortnight school is called here; still confused from Victorian names to ACT names. And hope Mr nearly 3 had a good nights sleep since he had been up at 5am Sunday morning and was still going strong at 9pm! It’s mornings like these that remind me to be glad that I didn’t have kids before I got sick. Getting up at outrageous hours like that? I just don’t know if I’d physically be able to break through the fog and clamber up and out of bed, let alone attend to them. I’m sure there would be ways to manage, but I can’t think of them.

Anyway, back to real life. We have guests coming for tea; I know, how social! So there are a few things to organise and mostly the day was a slow plodding ticking off my list. We only have 4 of everything to eat with, so no putting everything in the dishwasher and waiting til the dishwasher is full to put on a wash cycle; gotta do a load by hand! Probably one of my least favourite things to do, but! Then gotta figure out where the outside bins are; couldn’t find them yesterday. Turns out they’re in a garage around the side. A load of washing, curse the white bathroom floor and pick up all my brown hair, groceries and that’s about it. Oh, and driving around in circles trying to follow bogus Google directions for driving to the top of Mount Majura…my bad, turns out you can’t! But shame on you Google for making it look like I could drive through a looked gate. The map with the best directions is the one that’s misspelt…oh well, whatever works. I know where to go next time. It was mostly good fun though, I love a drive and even though it was really windy and blustery, I had fun taking photos out of the window along some nice back roads while going around and around ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and another visit to the visitor centre which has THE most helpful staff ever! Definitely recommend them, they’ll get you where you want to go quicker and easier. So while I was there I checked out the national exhibition centre which was very interesting, and the view over the lake up higher is fabulous!

img_0750

 

A nice Thai green curry chicken with rice for dinner with yummy ice cream and an evening of laughs around our makeshift table combining our weeny table for 2 and outdoor table; hope the outdoor chairs were comfy enough! Should have offered cushions…too late! But a great night, making it a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

