Canberra Day 82 to 84

Friday 2nd December, 2016

Today I’m going to the National Library’s ‘Treasures’ tour, a free tour on the current Treasures Gallery which right now is filled with an exhibition of Australian history. Apparently the library has 10 million objects as compared to 3 million books…something like that anyway. Surprising, but as they say, who else would keep these objects? And they all relate to books or to history in some way. Sitting in the atrium waiting for the tour (yes, me waiting) it was all Travatine marble, gorgeous tapestries, stunning stained glass windows…very impressive! A beautiful way to start the journey. Among the amazing things I saw on the tour was THE original Captain Cook diary from the original voyage; they turn the pages every page for another glimpse into history. Some fascinating maps: from when Australia was represented by just the Western Australian coastline single line drawing ending unfinished, then the first map that had the full outline of Australia. And so on. That was the guided tour, then I stayed before to have a better look at early Australia, and the fashion photography of Athol Shmith…not sure if that’s an accident or what. Well that was all brilliant, but exhausted my brain power for the day. I’ll do the other exhibition another day.

img_2179

Beautiful tapestries in the atrium of the National Library of Australia – of course ‘The Land of the Parrots’ on the right is my favourite. The space dish is beautiful but how can it compare?

When I was at the Belconnen Arts Centre I saw a brochure for an exhibition called Bipolar Bares All. Obviously an artist with bipolar doing art about bipolar appeals to me so I drove all the way down to Tuggeranong Arts Centre. I grabbed some lunch in town then went to the arts centre. The art was black pen drawings on white paper, some with captions or talking bubbles. It wasn’t quite what I thought it would be, but a couple were quite powerful. Then, since I was down there, I hit up Tuggeranong homestead. I enjoyed hanging over the white post and rail fence like a good ol farmer checking out the gorgeous brown girls feeding in the paddock, and I nearly ran over a blue tongue lizard! Luckily it didn’t go far so I got a few shots in. Then, for the second time this week, I walked in where I wasn’t welcome again! “Excuse me but would you mind telling me why you are taking photographs of my roses on private property” wasn’t how I thought the day would go! How was I to know that it was private property? The gate was open, the tourist sign was right there in the car park, and a sign at the exit of the car park towards the house said welcome! I mean, call me crazy (“crazy”), but it all looked okay to me! Anyway, I got the whole woes speel from the woman about how this always happens, about how photographers call up every week and have to be refused etc, yet right there on the lawn is a party obviously set up for tonight; its all rather confusing. In the end, when I would have been quite happy to leave already and not hear another word about it, they invite me in to have a look around and I got a 5 minute wizz around with the speed tour speech and I was on my way! What a kufuffle about nothing! You threaten me then invite me into the house? Sheesh! Home for a nap, but the adrenaline was still jumping through my arteries and I was buzzing like a bee; couldn’t get to sleep!!

Well, hubby was going to be late again, so I head to Red Hill lookout, the last of the lookouts that I saw in the rain when we were first here and haven’t been back to in fine weather. Gotta do something physical and burn off this adrenaline! And honestly I think Red Hill has some of the most stunning views because it looks out on the Brindabella ranges which are always blue and looking fabulous. Then we meet up for dinner at the food truck park, The Hamlet on Lonsdale Street and what a lovely way to end an interesting day!

Saturday 3rd December, 2016

I’ve been to the Australian National Botanic gardens but I wanted to go back for the Flora Explorer vehicle tour which only runs on Saturday; I figured I’d see more of the gardens that way rather than hiking around. It was pretty good, although the driving was pretty jumpy, but the commentary was great and it was a novel way to see more of the gardens. Then we went back to CMAG for the brand new Velocity exhibition of vintage racing bicycles which was really cool! Man we’ve come a long way to modern bikes! It was fascinating to look back and see what the early cyclists achieved with far inferior equipment!

Then on to the National War Memorial, something we’ve wanted to do together since we got here but it takes til the end of our time here to really force our hand and get us into gear! We had a wonderful time. We were just in time for the last guided tour of the day which was through the Great War section and our guide was fabulous. So snappy and great on the stories and anecdotes, really interesting and kept things moving nicely. Then we moved through the other sections ourselves as much as we could take in. We absolutely loved the dioramas, enjoyed the movies past and present, and the large models/souvenirs helped put everything in context. Then we finished off the day with the daily Last Post ceremony; what an experience! The war memorial is absolutely a must see in Canberra!

IMG_2834.JPG

Now for my weekly shower; sad, but very sadly true.

Sunday 4th December, 2016

Our usual meeting then we went to the Lanyon homestead for lunch. That didn’t turn out when we were booted off our nice table outside which was apparently reserved although there was no sign! Inside had low roofs and tiny windows and was quite a bit depressing, and the marquee had middle aged women drinking and celebrating Christmas, or something! No thanks. So we skipped our look through the homestead, disappointing, and headed off back to Braddon for lunch at Elemental on Lonsdale Street instead, then an afternoon nap.

20161204_133556

Happy Sunday views!

Leave a Reply

