Canberra Day 96: the final day

[Friday 16th December]

Well here it is, the last day in Canberra! For me anyway.

Can you believe it?? I can’t!

I’m in a bit of a cranky mood: if my husband has to come right back to Canberra early Monday morning, why are we driving all the way home this weekend, when he’ll have to go straight back? Why not just have both of us stay the extra week? But I don’t get a say so pack the car and keep quiet! Hubby doesn’t need the extra stress.

Today I have one last catch up for morning tea with an old friend that I’ve become reacquainted with here in Canberra. I just wish there was more time, but gotta fit in what I can fit in and live with that.

Today there’s just one thing on my tourist list, and I’ve been waiting a LONG time for this. The Music at Midday concert is finally here. I turned up a month ago on a date mix up so it has felt extra long waiting for this! Luckily it could be squeezed in before I left. This is a Christmas concert, a real Christmas concert with actual carols and jingle bells, played by the Australian Federation Band at the Canberra Theatre! Finally I get to hear the band again!! And a bonus: a terrific singer who gets right into the spirit of things. The minus is that I’m the youngest person in the audience by roughly 40 years!! Really? I know it’s a week day, but there has to be someone out there in my age bracket interested in great music played by a talented band. But it was a great show, the hour was over in a flash and I just loved it.

20161216_111911-2

Unfortunately that’s the fun part of the day over. Now I need to clean the apartment (lucky its small!), empty the bins, distribute the leftover food and household supplies we had to buy for this place, and get ready for lock up and leave. Surreal really. Can it truly be over? Are we really finished here?

And then all that’s left is to get in the car and go! We’re just going a couple of hours tonight to stay at Lake Jindabyne so hubby can get in a nice long road ride in the morning to blow out the cobwebs, and of course I’ll look for birds anywhere. Then we’ll figure out our way from there. We didn’t get to say goodbye to everyone, because of being away last weekend, so I’m sorry about that but let’s hope we meet again. Til then, friends. The grand Canberra adventure is over.

Leave a Reply

